Princeton 2019

Princeton African Humanities Colloquium 2019
Africa and Racial Capitalism

Racial Capitalism Poster

8:30 AM – 9:00 AM – BREAKFAST

9:00 AM – 9:15 AM – WELCOME and OPENING REMARKS

9:15 AM – 10:45 AM - PANEL 1: Africa and the New History of Capitalism

  1. Holian Wint – Wagner College, New York – hollian.wint@wagner.edu
  2. Lucas Pinheiro - University of Chicago, Chicago – lucaspinheiro@uchicago.edu
  3. Marius Kothor – Yale University, New Haven – marius.kothor@yale.edu
  4. Jessica Levy – Princeton University, Princeton – jalevy@princeton.edu

Discussant:  Darryl Thomas – Pennsylvania State University, Philadelphia – dct10@psu.edu

10:45 AM – 11:00 AM – COFFEE BREAK

11:00 AM – 12:30 PM - PANEL 2: Languages and Discourses of Racial Capitalism

  1. Neelofer Qadir – University of Massachusetts, Amherst – nqadir@english.umass.edu
  2. Charisse Burden-Stelly – Carleton College – cburden@carleton.edu
  3. Jemima Pierre – University of California, Los Angeles – pierrej@ucla.edu
  4. Emma Park – The New School, New York – parke@newschool.edu

Discussant: Jacob Dlamini Princeton University, Princetonjdlamini@princeton.edu

12:30 PM – 1:30 PM – LUNCH

1:30 PM – 3:00 PM - PANEL 3: Teaching and Researching Racial Capitalism

  1. Madalitso Phiri – University of South Africa, Pretoria – madalitsophiri1@gmail.com
  2. Amy Alemu – Harvard University, Cambridge – aalemu@g.harvard.edu
  3. Jordana Matlon – American University-Washington, DC – jcmatlon@american.edu
  4. Chinwe Oriji – University of Texas, Austin – chinweoriji@utexas.edu

Discussant: Melissa Tandiwe Myambo – Wits University, Johannesburg – Melissa.Myambo@wits.ac.za

3:00 PM – 3:15 PM – COFFEE BREAK

3:30 PM – 4:45 PM -- KEYNOTE: Address and Response

  1. Peter James Hudson – University of California, Los Angeles – pjhudson@ucla.edu
  2. Adom Getachew – University of Chicago, Chicago – agetachew@uchicago.edu

4:45 PM – 5:00 PM – CLOSING REMARKS